A noisey front-end.

A couple of weeks ago I started to notice that after using my front break the throttle was slow to respond. I thought it was down to an electrical fault, maybe the cut-off switch on the front break was playing up. I took it off & had a look, couldn’t find any problems so I gave it a spray of good old WD40 & refitted it. Took the break lever off, cleaned it up, lubricated it & refitted it. None of this made any difference, so I kind of resided with the idea that maybe something was failing within my speed controller.
Now a couple of days ago I started to get an intermittent ‘rubbing’ sound from the front end. The sound got more frequent the higher the speed but was not present at lower speeds. Decided that it was time to strip down the front end.

I started to take the front wheel out & found the spindle bolt was so excessively tight that I needed to stand on the wrench to undo the nut. These nuts should never be that tight! Got the spindle out & found that it had never been greased. Took the break calliper off, these came off quite easily. Noticed that one break pad had worn more than the other, so I took a better look at the calliper. The two pistons had a bit of surface corrosion on them so I cleaned them up with a bit of WD40 & a soft cloth, then gave them a good spray of Wd & pushed them back in & pumped them out etc a couple of times to draw in the fluid. Re-lubricated the sliders & pins & then put it all back together. Also noticed a load of very light scratches on the disc, so I guess that the pads must have picked up some grit & was rubbing on the disc.

I thought that before I put the wheel back, I’d take out the crappy screws holding the front mudguard & replace them with some new bolts. !!!!!!!! There’s a lot to be said about greasing bolts before fitting them! On of them sheared (torqued) off! Had to drill-out the bolt & re-tap the hole.
I urge you all to change these bolts or at least take them all (every bolt & screw you can see) out & put some ‘never-seize’ grease on the threads. This will hopefully save you from having this problem in time of urgent repairs….

Anyway, put it all back together (with fresh grease everywhere) & took it out for a ride….. No more noise & the problem with the throttle response had gone 🙂
So…..
The corrosion on the calliper pistons was causing the breaks to stick slightly which was causing the lever to not return correctly & thus causing the poor throttle response due to the cut-out switch staying off until the lever fully returned.
The rubbing noise was caused by debris caught in the pads.

Bare in mind my Scoota has only done 4300 miles, I would suggest that the front end would need servicing at about 3000 miles.

Hope this helps 🙂

8 Responses to “A noisey front-end.”

  1. danny Says:

    hey nick, cool stuff m8! (the whole blog, not obviously, your terrible front end business)…

    in the next two weeks, i’ll be able to legally ride my ‘ego’ around on the road (*OOOH YEE-A!! “saving the planet” and having fun!*).

    I 100% want to hit more than 30mph, it is a MUST.

    to be honest, i’ve not read your instructions, yet and have email’d your guy on details of products. to be honest, i’m generally being nosey, because i’m excited.

    – how long will it take me to mod my ego?!

  2. danny Says:

    not sure if it’s you or the website, but the guides not complete. please finish it ! :).

    could you not hit retal standards of engineering these(upgrades) as a package and sell them on your site? don’t know the procedure of that (or the mod) but, it would be awesome!

    maybe it would attract youngish people, like myself to purchase an ego as they are relatively cheap now (£450.00 on ebay).

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi Danny.
      I think you are refering to Mike’s web site (kickasscity.co.uk). He is the guy who came up with the 72 volt conversion. Mine is the 60 volt conversion.
      In answer to your other question, I recon it took me about 20 hours in total labour time to do the 72 volt conversion on my Scoota. I supose it’s all down to experience though when it comes to it.

      Have fun 🙂

  3. Bruce, Ego Owner and Fan, Surrey Says:

    Greetings all, I’ve recently bought an EGO Street Scooter from a mate and to start off with I was pretty doubtful that it would do what he said it would. I did some reading up on it and I guess the reviews where 50/50 as to if its a good idea or not.

    Problem number 1: Riding a scooter is rarely seen as being tough and often thought of on the other end of the spectrum as a bit ‘naf’.
    Answer: What I’ve noticed even the toughest friends of mine who were happy to laugh and joke about it change their mind rapidly after they’ve been out for a ride on it and It’s really hard to get them off the thing.

    Problem number 2: Lots of people are complaining about the low speed of the scooter.
    Answer: Unless you’re Uber handy with electrics like Nick and happy to give it a go fiddling with the wiring of the battries I’d say enjoy the ride at 25mph. My take on it is that the thing was built for low cost, convenient, easy running and if you want speed get a super bike.

    Problem number 3: Range (distance it can travel on a charge) is an issue the makers say it can go 40miles on a charge which sounds great but in reality it was probably measured with a small child driving.
    Answer: Charge the thing up daily and then you’ll not need to stress to much about the range, additionally if you’re worried about running out of power on your run to work and back get an extra charger to leave at work and charge the thing while you are working ensuring that it’ll get you home.

    Problem number 4: Getting honest advice on the EGO Scooters.
    Answer: Firefox seems to be the number 1 hit that Google and Bing send you to, although Firefox has the fancy pictures and stats they have stopped selling the scooters, when I called their helpline I was informed that they no longer run the range and have no other numbers to give to me for anyone that can help with my questions. My advice after trawling the net for days and days is that if you have questions about these things ask Nick (on nigs ego blog) as he’s had one of these things for ages and knows what he’s talking about.

    More to follow. Enjoy riding.
    Bruce

  4. Bruce, Ego Owner and Fan, Surrey Says:

    I’ve been riding the scooter for about a week now but only the 4 mile round trip to work and back. Yesterday after reading you blog and sitting behind a desk all day watching the sun baking down outside my window I felt reinvigorated to take the thing out for a real ride.

    What an awesome gadget! The thing costs little more than a good mobile phone and its brilliant to ride! Its really hilly where I live and there was a cyclist on a racing bike who would overtake me on a downhill but even with the scooter lugging all of my weight back up the opposite hill I was still able to catch the cyclist and overtake him.

    Neither of my two helmets fit below the seat or in the box on the back which is a bit of a shame. Riding with the open faced helmet is great in the sunshine but I was catching bugs in my face all of the way which got quite emotional so I might try the closed face one next time.

    I live in a normal town with loads of hills and I’m loving this gadget, pople who live in the cities must really find this thing a treat! Saves having to get on and off busses and tubes. I cant believe that everyone doest buy one.

    I’ll write more when I’ve got a chance, might start my own blog or try twittering or something.

    Questions for all of Nigs Ego Blog followers:
    1. Do you have any tricks for transporting the scooter?
    2. Have any of you taken the scooter on the train?
    3. If we solve the tpt problem would you guys think about meeting up for an Ego ride in London maybe as part of an eco rally or something?

    • nigsego Says:

      Great to hear it’s working so well for you. It is a shame about the storage issue, but the area under the seat on mine is used for the extra batteries, voltage controllers (yes, 2 of them) & my rain cover.

      A ride around London would be good. If there was such a thing as a Eco ride going on, it would be great press for the mayor! Borris could get us all there 🙂 I’ll be up for it.

  5. kevin Says:

    im interested in the 72 volt conversion , sre you taking pictures of the full conversion ? and what is the true cost of the conversion ?
    thanks kevin

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi Kevin.
      I have taken my scooter off the road now & am in the process of using it to make a go-kart. I haven’t any photos for the 72volt conversion, sorry. I would say though that it cost me approx £300 all in all to do the conversion, due to the high cost of the batteries, speed controller + charger, tooling, cables etc.
      Try this web site: http://www.kickasscity.com/upgrade_guide.html
      The guy ‘Mike’ who runs it is pretty switched on & he designed the 72 volt conversion after I done the 60 volt conversion.

Leave a Reply

