It’s insurance time again!

Hi, it’s been a while since my last post as I have not really had anything to add, but now it is the dreaded insurance time….
I have found 3 potential companies & will be checking on quotes over the next week or so.
Will post info as & when I have it. Fingers crossed for a sensible quote 🙂

13 Responses to “It’s insurance time again!”

  1. hypnurture Says:

    Hi Nig,

    Any idea where I could get hold of a new trip switch for an ego scoota. I had one go last year and the new one is starting to flick off when I am riding it. The egoscooter website seems to be dead http://www.egoscooters.co.uk and the info.egoscooters.co.uk address I used last time I had problems just bounces. I dealt with a guy called Gary Merrell before. I have searched the net but have had no joy. Any advice would be much appreciated.

    Cheers

    Gordon
    gjfletch@gmail.com

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi Gordon.
      Sorry to hear about the problems 😦
      The good news is though, you can get the switche’s from loads of place’s. I got my uprated one from a company called ‘TLC’, they have a web site & stores all over the place. But you could siply try place’s like ‘B&Q’. The switch is only a standard house hold fuse box switch.
      Hope this helps you.

      Regards, Nig.

  2. Gordon Says:

    Cheers Nig you are a star.

  3. zenid10 Says:

    The Insurance Hunt
    =============
    I expect to be taking delivery of my Ego ‘Scoota’ shortly.

    In the mean time I’ve been fishing for insurance quotes. So far the best I have is from BIKE SURE – £162 third party fire and theft. But I might be getting better treatment because I’ve held a motorbike license for so long (15 years). BIKE SURE are fine with modifications, I was delighted to hear.

    I’m still waiting for a call back from SWINTON, who, incidentally have now merged with WEST HUMBERSTONE AGENCIES. I have yet to find out if this upsets the modifications-OK policy that had before.

    Oddly enough ELECTRIC SCOOTER INSURANCE (www.electricscooterinsurance.co.uk) also appears to have been apporpriated by SWINTON: ESI’s no-0800 phone number takes you through to SWINTON.

    Runner up quotes so far are:
    RAMPDALE: FULLY COMP – £239, TPFT – £191, TPO – £178
    PLUGINSURE: FULLY COMP – £208, but TPFT and TPO is not available.

    All of these insurers are listed here:
    http://www.zippe.co.uk/#/insurance/4539145690

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi Zenid10 🙂
      Great to hear there’s gonna be another Scoota rider with us.
      My insurance is due in August. My policy with WHA got transferred to Swinton when they bought them out. I am just awaiting a quote from them, they know my Scoota is modified so it’s just a case of wait & see. Hopefully the price will be about the same as last time.
      Your quote of £162 is pretty good. I had a few really high quotes last year that were quite shocking.

  4. zenid10 Says:

    Hi Nigsego 🙂

    Good to hear from you! I’m very much looking forward to getting my bike, which should be with me in about two weeks when they’ve properly DVLA-ised it. I’ve spent the last couple of days glued to this forum and its various blogs, and phoning round for insurance quotes. – My ‘BIKE SURE’ quote was even better than I thought it was, as it included optional £15 medical insurance, so the actual quote (minus medical cover) reads:

    BIKE SURE – FULLY COMP – £220, TPFT – £147, and a piddling TPO – £107! 🙂 …. Mods OK!

    SWINTON finally got back with: FULLY COMP – (none available), TPFT – £200, TPO – £158… but mods are OK, once again.

    So a definite no-brainer there…

    UPGRADE METHOD DETAILS (if this belongs somewhere else feel free to move it)
    ===================
    I’ve been avidly reading about the 60/72V upgrades people here have been doing, as I’m very keen on doing a similar job but the upgrade guide you put tohether seems to be incomplete and I am confused about some of the details of changes that have to be made.

    I’d really appreciate a bit of clarification, if you can spare a few minutes to answer a couple of questions:

    1) I don’t understand why and AC-DC converter is required. The batteries are DC, and isn’t the motor DC too? Where’s the AC coming into the equation?

    2) The LCD PSU you used to upgrade to 72V requires an input range of 110V-240V to deliver its 12V DC (at 10A). How can this work?

    3) What current are the 12V batteries delivering? Is it about 20 AMPS a piece, as 20 x 72 gives you the approximate 1400W that the motor is capable of withstanding. If the current is much less than this, then can’t the voltage be ramped up even further – 8 batteries @ 96V for example…?

    4) In your explanation of chopping up the LCD PSU and wiring it to the plastic 3-prong plug, I can’t understand what wire is being ‘soldered into the hole’ and why? Could you clarify which AC input wire (AC) gets soldered where, and what became of the other input wire?

    Sorry to bombard you with questions but I’ve not yet been able to figure these things out…

    Many thanks

    Zenid10

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi. I hope my email to you explained a few things. Kickasscity is not my site. I will contact Mike & see if he’s ok with me passing on his email address to you. If he’s ok with that, he will be able to answer all your questions. 🙂

  5. zenid10 Says:

    Yes, thanks a lot, I’d very much appreciate that! 🙂

  6. Hello Fellow Ego Scootees « Zenid's Ramblings Says:

    […] “Insurance Hunt” blurb on Nig’s site for details of the other quotes I […]

  7. acdc rock band Says:

    This piece of writing is actually a pleasant one it helps new web users,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  8. Michel Says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!

    It is the little changes that produce the most significant changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  9. crear facebook Says:

    I truly love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal blog and want to find out where you got this from or what the theme is called. Thanks!

    • nigsego Says:

      Hi Debbie.
      Just create an account with wordpress.com. You can then start writing your own blog. The theme I use is Kubrick.
      Regards.

Leave a Reply

