Don’t believe the speedo!

Hello.

I have had my doubts about the speedo reading for a while now & (as far as I am concerned) have concluded that the mph & odometer readings are extremely over complimentary to the Scoota.

When I first bought my Scoota, I took it for a ride with my sat-nav in my pocket to record speed & distance. I rode for 7.3 miles (according to the clock) & topped 33mph. When I pulled out my sat-nav it was telling me that my best speed was 22.5mph & I had travelled 5.2 miles. At the time I thought it must have been a mistake on the sat-nav’s behalf. I have tried a few times since with the same sort of results.

On Monday whilst on my way to work, I saw a new speed check radar that tells you your speed (it’s a 20 zone). I thought it would be a good chance to check my speed, so I twisted the throttle open & headed for it. It bounced back a top speed of (wait for it…..) 24mph. Bare-in-mind it was located at the bottom of a slight hill. My speedo was lying (I mean reading) 32mph (5th battery not connected at that time). If you can’t trust a radar, what do you trust?

On Tuesday I decided to go through with the 60 volts working (top speed on the clock of 45mph down hill). When I got to the radar it bounced back a speed of 32mph! Bugger! Lying clock!

I have to say now that I am sorry that I tried to do 45mph in a 20 zone. It is silly & dangerous. Not my usual road riding practice & I won’t be repeating it.  But this does, I believe, conclude that you can’t trust the Ego’s speedo or odometer.

I must therefore conclude that the Ego Scoota is not actually capable of doing the advertised speed of 30mph or a capable of travelling a range of “upto” 40 miles. It is more likely capable of doing approx 20mph (on a flat) & travelling about 28 miles.

Sorry to anyone that has a standard Scoota. I suggest that we all contact Ego & complain about the false advertisements. You never know, they might actually supply us all with upgraded speed controllers.  If you wanna complain, just go to their web site  & contact them via the ‘technical help’ link.

I am now looking into the possibility of doing a thing called the ‘Shunt mod’ (thanx Mike). It uses a bit of wire to reduce the resistance in the speed controller (check out visforvoltage.org). I will post news as & when I have it.

Nick.

3 Responses to “Don’t believe the speedo!”

  1. hohisilver Says:

    Hi Nick

    This would make the latest post on my blog look even worse, but having thought about it I don’t believe the odo on my scooter is quite that inaccurate, unless my car one is too. I clocked 1.1 miles to the new office in the car, and 1.1 miles on the scooter. That said, it may explain why my range tests so far look so dismal.

    If you (or anyone else) wants to discuss their findings, check out the forum I’ve set up on http://electricmotoring.forumup.co.uk/ – it’s been there about a week and I’m getting a bit lonely!

    Cheers

    Ian.

  2. More evidence? « Ian’s Blog Says:

    […] little “dissent in the ranks” about the claimed speed and range of the Ego Scooter (see https://nigsego.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/dont-believe-the-speedo/). As I’ve said before, I have not had much of a chance to test this fully, especially […]

  3. Mike Says:

    Wish I’d paid the extra and bought from Castleton or Firebox.
    UKECO are bunch of crooks. I think I was one of the lucky ones, at least I am mechanically minded so they couldn’t pull the wool over my eyes. There must be loads of others who have bought these lesser spec models and don’t know it.

    When I got my scooter it was shipped with the wrong batteries in it. I was informed of this pre-delivery and told that in its current form the scooter would underperform. I was assured that the correct batteries would be sent to me within 3 to 4 weeks and that once fitted the bike would run as advertised (they said they had tested this). Two months later and after many phone calls chasing up these fabled replacement batteries UKECO finally admitted that the batteries wouldn’t actually fit my scooter as the battery box was too small. To be more exact the box needed to be 3cm wider and 7cm longer in other words it would need to be removed and a new one fitted. UKECO didn’t offer any real solution to this problem, at one point they offered to replace the scooter and move the VIN number from the old one onto the new one (I think the police call this practice “ringing” and it is illegal) but they soon withdrew this offer. I contacted a local engineering firm who specialize in custom motorbike and trike frames for a quote to get it sorted. Got a quote for £200 which sounds a lot but once you consider that they need to remove all the bodywork, cut the old box out, fabricate a new one and weld it in, and put the whole thing back together, its unlikely you’ll get it done for less. I offered this as a solution and at first UKECO were quite keen on the idea, then they heard the price.
    They finally agreed to this as they could offer no other solution. After email and verbal confirmation that the money was being refunded to my card I arranged to get the battery box changed.
    UKECO have now gone back on their word and have not refunded the £200, in fact they deny agreeing to pay it.

    The moral of this story is leave UKECO well alone. They are not to be trusted. The £200 I saved buying from them I have now had to spend anyway, would have been better to buy from a reputable firm in the first place.

Leave a Reply

